Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
04-10-2019, 04:11 PM (This post was last modified: 04-10-2019 10:37 PM by twinclouds.)
Post: #61
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Hi, Martin:
Thank you very for your detailed instructions. I will try and let you know if I have any issues. My ESP32 is still on the road so I won't know how it behaves until sometime later Smile.
Edit:
The installation is flawless following your instructions. The old code compiles fine without modification. I will try once I receive the chip.
Thank you again for your help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2019, 04:54 PM
Post: #62
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Hi Martin,

Really quick question, as far as you know, is there anything to stop one using you code in Station Mode instead of AP ?

and thanks for all your work on this port. I am excitedly awaiting the arrival of the last few parts and will be building this asap.

Many thanks

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2019, 05:17 PM
Post: #63
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Hi Jason,

As long Station Mode hasn't been broken in Arduino-ESP32 and/or IDF it should basically work Smile
However, there are some built-in hardcoded IPs used in the bot's code and especially the JJRobot App. The bot will always send its telemetry data (tilt angle) to 192.168.4.2. You can modify this in this line: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...SC.cpp#L21
The app seems to always connect to 192.168.4.1 (or maybe to <netmask>.1; Haven't ever seen sources of the app, just wiresharke'd the traffic). That means you might not be able to operate the bot using the app unless you ensure it has IP 192.168.4.1 assigned in stationary mode...

BR,
ghmartin77
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2019, 07:53 PM
Post: #64
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Arduino-ESP32 1.0.2-rc2 also works. Just needs the code change mentioned in post #60 ( http://forums.jjrobots.com/showthread.ph...15#pid4315 ).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2019, 09:05 PM
Post: #65
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Martin:
Arduino-ESP32 1.0.2 is available now. Have you tested it to see if it is working fine?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2019, 02:10 AM (This post was last modified: 05-02-2019 04:04 AM by twinclouds.)
Post: #66
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Hi, Martin:
I am still waiting for my ESP32 to arrive. Meantime, I try to understand the code batter. Looks like you set up softAP using a library function. Thus, it is simpler to implement than the original way for ESP8266. But I have difficulty to find the codes dealing with the communications between the controller App and the robot. Could you please let me know where they are? Specifically, the codes related to the ESP32 wifi front end receiving the signal from the Android App.
Another question. I noticed that there are two versions of the ESP-32 development board, 30 pins and 38 pins. Can either one be used? Looks like you are using the 38 pin one, correct? Can the 30 pin one be used also?
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2019, 07:52 PM
Post: #67
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
twinclouds Wrote:Looks like you set up softAP using a library function. Thus, it is simpler to implement than the original way for ESP8266. But I have difficulty to find the codes dealing with the communications between the controller App and the robot. Could you please let me know where they are? Specifically, the codes related to the ESP32 wifi front end receiving the signal from the Android App.
Here you go - processing of incoming UDP data from (e.g.) the app: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...SC.cpp#L84
Reading UDP data in main loop: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...t.cpp#L184
Init network socket: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...SC.cpp#L53

twinclouds Wrote:Another question. I noticed that there are two versions of the ESP-32 development board, 30 pins and 38 pins. Can either one be used? Looks like you are using the 38 pin one, correct? Can the 30 pin one be used also?
There's a picture of the board I use plus a pinout link on GitHub. Whether I use 38 pin version or not can be derived by simple counting, so I reject to answer that question Tongue

You can use almost any ESP32 board as long as you have enough pins available to connect all stuff you want to use (motors, servos, etc.). Pins used are also described on my Github page. Important note: ESP32 allows to use almost any pin in various modes (input or output) but there are very few that are only usable as inputs. For details have a look here: https://randomnerdtutorials.com/esp32-pi...nce-gpios/ (search for "input only pins")
I actually fell into this trap and was wondering why on earth only one of the motors was working Angel

BR,
ghmartin77
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2019, 05:40 PM
Post: #68
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
(05-02-2019 07:52 PM)ghmartin77 Wrote:  
twinclouds Wrote:Looks like you set up softAP using a library function. Thus, it is simpler to implement than the original way for ESP8266. But I have difficulty to find the codes dealing with the communications between the controller App and the robot. Could you please let me know where they are? Specifically, the codes related to the ESP32 wifi front end receiving the signal from the Android App.
Here you go - processing of incoming UDP data from (e.g.) the app: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...SC.cpp#L84
Reading UDP data in main loop: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...t.cpp#L184
Init network socket: https://github.com/ghmartin77/B-ROBOT_EV...SC.cpp#L53

twinclouds Wrote:Another question. I noticed that there are two versions of the ESP-32 development board, 30 pins and 38 pins. Can either one be used? Looks like you are using the 38 pin one, correct? Can the 30 pin one be used also?
There's a picture of the board I use plus a pinout link on GitHub. Whether I use 38 pin version or not can be derived by simple counting, so I reject to answer that question Tongue

You can use almost any ESP32 board as long as you have enough pins available to connect all stuff you want to use (motors, servos, etc.). Pins used are also described on my Github page. Important note: ESP32 allows to use almost any pin in various modes (input or output) but there are very few that are only usable as inputs. For details have a look here: https://randomnerdtutorials.com/esp32-pi...nce-gpios/ (search for "input only pins")
I actually fell into this trap and was wondering why on earth only one of the motors was working Angel

BR,
ghmartin77
Thank you for your comments . They are very helpful.
I am going to receive an NodeMPU version of SPE32 today. I think it is the same as what you used. Hopefully I will have more fun now. I will let you know if I have any further questions.
Regards.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2019, 01:59 AM
Post: #69
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Martin:
I noticed you have closed the I2C issue in your github thread. Does this means the problem has been solved in the latest Arduino-ESP32 1.0.2 release?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2019, 05:28 PM
Post: #70
RE: ESP32 Port of B-Robot_EVO2 Code
Yes, 1.0.2's I2C implementation works fine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 7 Guest(s)