JJRobots COMMUNITY
[FIXED] DHCP Problems - Printable Version

+- JJRobots COMMUNITY (http://forums.jjrobots.com)
+-- Forum: JJrobots (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: iBoardbot (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+---- Forum: Technical subforum (/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+---- Thread: [FIXED] DHCP Problems (/showthread.php?tid=858)



[FIXED] DHCP Problems - chpm78 - 05-28-2016 09:07 PM

Hi,

I've received my iBoardbot a few days ago and finished assembling today.

I then tried to configure the board but I don't get an IP address from the board so I had to force an address 192.168.4.x and then manually open 192.168.4.1

I configured the params for the Wifi network.

Looking at the console, it connects to the Wifi LAN but then disconnects. Checking on the Wifi management, I see there's no IP assigned to the board. As the DHCP is working I believe the board is not sending the DHCP request???

This is the output on the console:

Code:
AT+CWJAP="net2","ciccibumba"

WIFI CONNECTED
+CWJAP:1

FAIL
WIFI DISCO
Error connecting to network!



RE: DHCP Problems - JoseJulio - 05-28-2016 10:04 PM

It seems to be a problem in the wifi negotiation process
The AT+CWJAP is directly a command of the wifi module ESP8266
Is your wifi network a 2.4Ghz network?
Have you tried on another wifi network? (you could for example share your smartphone connection)
If the problem persist please let us know...


RE: DHCP Problems - chpm78 - 05-29-2016 08:34 AM

(05-28-2016 10:04 PM)JoseJulio Wrote:  It seems to be a problem in the wifi negotiation process
The AT+CWJAP is directly a command of the wifi module ESP8266
Is your wifi network a 2.4Ghz network?
Have you tried on another wifi network? (you could for example share your smartphone connection)
If the problem persist please let us know...


Hi, yes my network is 2,4Ghz.

I've tried to connect to my cell phone tethering but still doesn't work.

As I have some other ESP8266 modules I tried to replicate the commands of the iBoardbot. I was able to connect to the wifi network with no problems and the module got the Ip address right away!

I also tried to set it as "Soft AP" and the DHCP server works there....

I believe it's a problem of the ESP module......


RE: DHCP Problems - JJrobots JP - 05-29-2016 11:01 AM

chpm78, send us an email to info@jjrobots.com with your KickstarterĀ“s username and email. We will send you a replacement ;-)