JJRobots COMMUNITY
PID stuff - Printable Version

+- JJRobots COMMUNITY (http://forums.jjrobots.com)
+-- Forum: JJrobots (/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: B-Robot (/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: PID stuff (/thread-1507.html)

PID stuff - scandermore - 01-12-2018 10:40 AM

Hello!

I have been following balancing robots development for years, and now I decided to make one. Until now, this is the best mechanics/code I've found, with proper explanations, open source community... congratulations Jose and Juan!

I have a doubt/question about the stabilization PID. I have some experience programming PIDs at work so I was wondering why do you use a PD and integrate later... from what I know, integrating a PD is exactly the same as doing a PI, because the D integrated gives a P, and the P integrated results in a I.

I have been setting up my balancing robot with a PI in the stabilization stage, and it works the same, but the adjust and integral limit, etc... is more intuitive.

I have also seen that in your code, when you do the integration, the dt is not considered (in the PI and the PD it is considered), so if for some reason the main dt changed (a change in the IMU refresh timeout, for example) the PD part should be adjusted again.

A dt factor could be added to the integrator (and adjust again PD's) or a PI could be used, in which dt is already considered.

Just my two cents about almost a perfect code, for me. I'll post my updates when I finish my project.

Alex

RE: PID stuff - vanDijk - 01-16-2018 09:01 PM

Hello scandermore,
your posting is interesting for me. I had tried such a change to PIDstableControl() (without this +=) and with an additional integral part, in order to reduce the oscillations while the robot is standing. It seems to be some better, but the driving stability was rather bad. The robot wasn't able to stop immediately when I drive throttle=0 with smartphone.
Which experiences could you make concerning that.

Claus