JJRobots COMMUNITY
Troubleshooting please help - Printable Version

+- JJRobots COMMUNITY (http://forums.jjrobots.com)
+-- Forum: JJrobots (/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: B-Robot (/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Troubleshooting please help (/thread-1390.html)

Troubleshooting please help - Jimwig - 10-08-2017 07:42 PM

So this is my first attempt at anything robotic.. so please consider that. I've assembled the robot, and may have a myriad of problems.

When I switch on the Brobot, the IMU seems to syn up, I get the shaky wheels and servo movement, but the robot will not balance, and the wheels will spins and make a lot of noise. Initially I thought I may have the steppers connected wrong to the shield and drivers, (and that still be the case). I'm using a Nema 17HS4401 for the steppers.

I believe I have them wired correct, but I'm not 100% sure (Attached images). But the biggest question I have is how to debug the IMU/arduino.

I've read the info on these forums, and on the Jjrobots.com assembly guide, and I understand how to change the debug value, but then what? Do I assemble the robot and turn it on again? OR do I connect it to the Aurduino app and run the Code? Then where do i get the information from the debug? Is it through the Aurduino IDE? is it saved as a log file in a directory in my Arduino folders?

I really appreciate any help, I would really like to be successful with this robot..and learn a thing or two especially about debugging!!

Thanks in advance

Jimwig

RE: Troubleshooting please help - JohnQ - 10-08-2017 10:07 PM

To debug the robot:
Connect the USB cable to the Robot and upload the new code (remember to select the ARDUINO LEONARDO as BOARD, and the correct COM PORT in the ARDUINO IDE), after uploading properly the code, click on the SERIAL MONITOR ("magnifying glass" icon, upper right on the Arduino IDE window) and see what the robot sends to the computer. If the IMU is working, it should be sending the values of the angle continuosly.
Alternative: